Go Green for Antarctica Movement: Introduction

Antarctica will always hold a special place in my heart.

In 2013 I was fortunate enough to be invited to join an expedition with 30 other young dedicated environmentalists from around the world to experience the icy continent first hand.

Not only was I given the opportunity to join a two week expedition as far south as it is possible to go in the world, but I had to raise the funds to get there.

I had four months to raise over $20,000 USD.

Let that sink in for a moment

I was just one young person, how on earth was I going to be able to do this?

To convince potential corporate sponsors to support me and put faith in me and my vision to protect Antarctica and for a more sustainable way of living.

Long story short, somehow I managed to pull off the unthinkable.

I raised the money and joined the expedition.

It was a life changing and life affirming experience and I knew that every day from then on I would work to protect the last untouched wilderness on earth.

Since the expedition I have held talks to young people at conferences about how they have the ability to create change in their communities and why Antarctica and sustainability is important.

I have written articles for newspapers and online magazines about my experience and the perils Antarctica is facing with climate change.

I started writing a monthly column with Wanderful magazine all about how you can travel the world and still be eco.

That making small changes in your life can make a difference to protecting the environment.

I wrote a book about my experience ‘Antarctic Youth Ambassador: protecting the last great wilderness on earth’ detailing my journey from fundraising to the expedition and including facts about Antarctica and tips on living a greener life.

I have worked on social media projects that have raised awareness about Antarctica as well as continued to be involved with conservation organizations.

I have had conversations with people all around the world about Antarctica and environmental protection.

One conversation can plant the seed in someone mind to start change.

I also started this blog as a way of continuing to spread the word about how easy it is to be green in everyday life, even on the road.

With Antarctica at the forefront of my everyday life I now want to share my ‘Go Green for Antarctica’ movement.

Once a month I will be posting on the blog eco tips, eco products, facts about Antarctica, as well as parts of my Antarctic diary and video diary from the expedition.

In this way I hope to inspire other young people to join the green movement and to realize how easy it is to make a small change in every day life to help protect our environment and Antarctica.

Stay tuned for next months post with facts about Antarctica and why the continent is so under threat.

If you want to learn more about creating change, running a campaign, Antarctica, penguins and perhaps be inspired join the Green for Antarctica movement and check out my book available for purchase via amazon.com here

2 thoughts on “Go Green for Antarctica Movement: Introduction

  1. Morgan, this is great work you are doing. The environmental cost of travel is huge and we need to accept that it is a luxury that most of us should not undertake. We can all learn so much from your visit and all the scientist who have and are feeding back info on all parts of the ‘discovered’ world. Keep up the excellent work. Barrie Noble – Twitter @Sevensearcher

Leave a Reply

