Antarctic Youth Ambassador Book!

I am so excited that my book ‘Antarctic Youth Ambassador: protecting the last great wilderness on earth’ is almost complete.

This project has taken a year to complete and for most of the year I will be honest I was just trying to get up the courage to do this.

Writing a book is so different from writing articles or blog posts.

Sure I am a freelance travel and environmental writer, and I am used to having my work published and put out there for the world to see and comment on.

But rarely is that content about me directly.

It is not often personal.

This book by comparison is personal.

It is about me, my journey to becoming an Antarctic Youth Ambassador, my thoughts, opinions, dreams and fears.

It could not get more personal.

After months and months of writing, editing, proof reading, re writing, loosing one of my drafts and needing to start again and everything in between the book is almost ready to go.

Proofing my book!
Proofing my book!

In fact yesterday I was proofing my book online to ensure that the layout and everything looks the way it is supposed to.

From there it is just the cover, ordering a proof copy to make sure everything looks the same in print as it does in my manuscript and then it will be ready for the world to enjoy.

I am still so overwhelmed by the support I have received from family, friends and people I don’t even know about my book before it is even published.

Yet I am also so scared that I do not want anyone to read it.

What if its not so great?

Or people say really mean things or anything else you can imagine could go wrong.

It is not about selling 1 million copies, or even selling 100 copies.

It is about the message:

That young people can do anything that they set their minds to.

That we need to live more sustainably.

That Antarctic needs to be better protected post the expiration of the current treaty in the year 2041.

And that dreams can come true.

 

My book will be ready for purchase in both print and e-book form if you don’t want to use paper and be eco next week via Amazon!

Leave a Reply

